Couples Skate

Originally Published 04/13/2011 06:21:04 AM

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Brooke held my hand tightly, partly for balance, but also because she wanted to. I was “leading” us, and hoping to lead us off the rink. I think she hated roller skating as much as I did, but she kept going, so I did too.

Eventually I asked if she wanted to grab a bite, and we skated off, holding hands, to the bench. We took off our skates and stowed them underneath. I got us nachos and Cokes and we sat across from each other at a table. Brooke was still panting a little from skating, and I reached over and brushed a chestnut curl from her mouth. Then she came over and sat next to me.

We sat side by side, leaning into each other, cheek to cheek, and talked and laughed. And then it was 9:00 and my mom picked us up and dropped her off, and we said goodbye and I went home. I went upstairs, brushed and got into bed, with the dew of the spring night and the sound of bugs hitting the screen, and I wondered what it would be like to be in love with Brooke Keller in ten years when I was 25, and then 35, and 45 and on ‘till death…

Leave a Reply

