Boston

Hancock
Image Source: Secret Boston

I have spent countless hours during lunch and after work in Copley Square, around the corner from the blast sight, malingering on the steps of the Boston Public Library with my journal and smoke perpetually in hand.

I have walked past – and across – the Finish Line of the Boston Marathon on Boylston St. more times than I remember, heart racing with excitement and pride.

I have whiled away many afternoons at the old Samuel Adams Brewpub (oh, don’t go looking for it: it’s not there anymore) in the lobby of the Lenox Hotel, at the finish line, being twenty four and wondering how I would ever earn a living or find a girl.

I have lingered at my bench in the Square, facing the new and old John Hancock towers and H.H. Richardson’s magnificent Trinity Church. This has always been my spot to find tranquility and center myself against the pain in my head.

I have sat at my desk on the 56th floor of the new Hancock Tower during the summer of 1999, when I was working a shitty go-nowhere data entry job, scanning the sweep of Beacon Hill, the dome of the State House – the gold of which was inlayed by Paul Revere himself – and the Harbor, soaking in the history and dreaming of making my own Boston history.

Several nights after the World changed forever for the first time, we walked seven miles from my apartment in Somerville to Copley Square, where we sat by the fountain in front of the church, lit candles and reflected on national tragedy. And we came together as Bostonians, as Americans, and grieved and healed.

Boston made me. Copley Square formed and informed me. My streets, Boylston and Dartmouth, were so tragically scarred forever today.

But there will be healing and rebirth. Boston is great at that.

Like!
http://www.facebook.com/BrianWestbyeWrites

Follow!
@BrianWestbye

8 comments
  1. Poor Boston has suffered the brunt of someone’s hate. If there is to be healing and rebirth I hope Boston can show the way and teach the monsters who did this that you can’t indiscriminately attack the innocent and win. I’m sure American Security will by now have an idea of who did this. If you must take revenge, please do so individual by individual and not by sending drones out to kill more innocents abroad gaining more sympathy for Al Qaeda and their ilk. Let these be the last innocents to die. If these prove to be home-grown terrorists, please start addressing the issues that create group who are willing to kill their own, with the exception of those who feel it their right to hold onto personal arsenals.
    It’s time for peace.

  2. “It’s a time for peace,” yes, even the word “peace” holds a deep quietness. It seems to me our society has to stop all the “hatred” that is sponsoring this kind of violence. Stop the aggression, and the guns and bombs.

  3. I’ve only been to Copley Square as a tourist. I remember the church and the fountain. So sorry. Boston is a wonderful city.

    • Haven’t lived there in eleven years, but man, I am aching.

  4. If any group of people can get through this it’s Bostonians. They’re made of tough stuff. I’m sorry, Brian, that your special memory places were hit like this. I have no words because it makes no sense. Boston is a great city and will be that much stronger because of this attack. :/

  5. I spent my teenage years sitting on the steps of Copley Plaza, a boozy and hilarious year in a basement apartment in Allston, and now every summer visiting my family 45 minutes outside of the city. This one hurt.

    • Good thing we’re Boston Strong, dhonour. I’ve got your back.

  6. Thanks for posting, I enjoyed reading about that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,227 other followers

