Intersection: Third Movement


Image Source: tanignak.com

It’s funny how two lives can intersect.

I thought I would know Daisy for life. Maybe she thought so too. We were best friends from kindergarten until second grade, and we were inseparable. Birthday parties, roller skating, trading our lunchbox treasures on the playground at recess…we did it all together and believed we always would.

Our parents were friends and both had station wagons – we had a Buick, and they had a Dodge – and sometimes we would take day trips to the lake together. Daisy and I always rode in the way-back, bouncing around without seatbelts, playing Mad-Libs and drinking juice with sticky hands. Sometimes we would just hug and watch the landscape roll by.

Daisy was my best friend, and I never thought I would know life without her. And then one day her family moved away. Just gone on a dime, half-way across the country. I cried every day for a week, and it took a long time before I could play at recess or ride in the way-back again. We exchanged a few letters and talked on the phone a couple of times, but that was it. She was gone and left to my memories.

Thirty years later I found Daisy again, naturally through Facebook. And she was back in town! We immediately friended each other and launched into a passionate catch-up. We had a lot in common: both divorced, no kids, adventures across the states. We were able to speak the language of fulfilled adults while delving back into the feeling of being inseparable kids again.

We met for drinks, and hugged for hours, or so it felt. It was like getting a transfusion of youth through her body. I found myself trembling at her beauty in addition to the nerves about seeing her again after so long. I often dreamed of this moment, and here it was.

We sat down, ordered a round and settled in. And it was…kind of awkward. Stilted conversation, long pauses, not as much common ground as we thought. We ordered another round, and managed to battle through the discomfort, a little bit. But it felt like we were out of synch. Unfamiliar partners dancing at slightly different tempos.

After our third round, I think we both felt the chasm between us. The years between had killed what we were, and there was nothing to go back to.

We hugged again on the way out, but shorter and more detached, and went on our way. We kept in touch through Facebook, but that night was the extent of our grand reunion. I don’t know that I had any thoughts of anything developing. But I’ll always feel off about how undeveloped it all felt.

Two people come together, and it’s like two rivers flowing together. They split apart, then intersect again hundreds of miles south. And then they split apart again.

Like!
http://www.facebook.com/BrianWestbyeWrites

Follow!
@BrianWestbye

35 comments
  1. You sum up that kind of relationship perfectly.
    Brought back a lot of my own memories.

    • Are you now bawling or plotting revenge? Either way, mission accomplished…

      • Ah, so that’s your plan!
        Neither. Just dusting off some old memories before putting them back in the box.

      • I try to make a difference… ;)

  2. free penny press said:

    I so relate to this.. Through The book of Faces I too was reunited (cyberly) with my BF from high school. Oh I was mad for him and cried like a fool when he left to attend the Naval Academy..long story short, it did not take long (emails & such) to see our lives were so different and there could be no going back in time.. Hell, he’s a republican and bigwig in DC.. Need I say more..:-)

    loved this slice of life!!

    • Guess we can cancel the registry at Macy’s then, eh? *grin*

      • free penny press said:

        Yup!! Next…

  3. “Transfusion of youth…” I really like that quote, it can say so much with just those three words. Great post!

    • Thanks, Java! I’m so glad that line resonated with you. And I’m glad you’re here!

      • Yes, I can relate. I met up with a childhood friend two years ago and like you said, it was a temporary transfution of youth that I needed. However, life gets busy and you split apart. But the quick moments they give you is enough to re-energize you once again. Sometimes, even if it is fleeting, this is needed for our souls so we can continue our journey through life with more vigor and vitality to meet other who will do likewise but in more of the “present time”. :)

  4. I can relate to this. I found my long lost best friend on facebook, exchanged a few emails, and that was pretty much the end of that. There were some cyber laughs and omgs but other than that, no desire to put forth the energy to connect any further. Maybe the trick is to go in with zero expectations?
    Nice job, Brian.

    • Zero Expectations. There’s another memoir title! ;P

  5. Wow! Thanks for the jog. Just tucked all my own memories you brought to the top of the box…and closed the lid. Again.

    • I seem to be inspiring a lot of nostalgia today!

      • Yes…and nicely done!

  6. Such a close subject for me, since unfortunately I fall to the past, at times : )

    • Nice thing about life is you get plenty of chances to re-write. *grin*

      Great to have you here, Mari! Don’t be a stranger.

      • Absolutely! I live on chance!
        Won’t be, you’ll see me plenty ; )

  7. Sometimes after reconnecting with someone from long ago, I wish I hadn’t seen them again. It is nice to know how your old friends are doing, but it is kind of like learning a magic trick. Sometimes it is better not to know.

    • exACTly

  8. morezennow said:

    I found a long lost friend on FB. We met in DC when I was doing an FDA internship in 1991. He came back to the states from Belgium last year so I took a flight to visit him in our old stomping grounds. One of the biggest mistakes of my life. He spent the entire visit dragging me around to shopping outlets so he could stock up on cheap American goods and making me feel inferior because I’m not a European sophisticrat like him. We used to talk a lot but every time I spoke during the visit he took every opportunity to knock me down. Time had made him a snob. It broke my heart. If he thought Americans are so silly why the hell does he bother coming here and want to spend time with one? Smh. I still email him every once in awhile. He did apologize but actions speak louder than words and I knew that magical friendship was forever lost in the diverging stream.
    Lovely post, as always.

    • Guuuuuhhhhhhhhh…do not like! Let’s see if we can get his poncy ass deported for good.

      • morezennow said:

        I hope customs got ahold of his three suitcases filled with electronics and perfume that I am certain he didn’t declare. He is a sneaky trick, now. He used his hotel address for Amazon. And has an American bank account. Smh again. I asked him why he didn’t just move back here and become a citizen and he said we were all too shallow and greedy consumers, without a care about the rest of the world, in our big SUV’s, guzzling gas. Hypocrite.

      • I hope he gets an STD…

      • morezennow said:

        He didn’t get one from me and that’s probably why he treated me so shabbily.

  9. Dang. Kinda makes you wish FB didn’t exist, huh? Nothing worse than childhood memories tarnished by real life.

    • I can only imagine! Fortunately I haven’t had this experience yet. All of my reunions have been absolutely fantastic. Guess I’m one of the lucky ones.

  10. Ah..Nostalgic!!! I agree with Jeannette…at times like today when someone who made me weak in my knees years ago connected with me on facebook…I so cursed facebook %$@^

    • Meh! Now I’ve got another ass I wanna kick!

  11. “The years between had killed what we were, and there was nothing to go back to.” – Why do you put it so simply and so precisely, sir? Sad and true, stuff of real life… How we wish sometimes that there’d be no intersections, so the wonder years would be as they were… Oh, well. Thanks for sharing this. Btw, may i tag your site, eh? :)

    • Tag away, 35, and thank you so much!

  12. no seatbelts? such rebels – both of you. :) Great story!

    • No seatbelts in the way-back! ;)

  13. Yes, it is nice to ponder upon how all the little chances that occur in the world bring two people together.

    • You never know either way, right?

      I’m glad you’re here, Francis, thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,266 other followers

